Invisible Painting One

I started a new painting about two weeks ago, and have been documenting the process as I go a long.  I don’t have an explanation for each move or decision I make in the painting,  but I find it interesting to be able to look back at the choices I’ve made through the images I’ve taken, and reexamine how the painting came to be.    This also relates to my interest in animation.

I’m feeling excited about the new work. I feel like I am integrating more ways of using paint in a single painting, I’ve been experimenting more with glazes (probably a result of my visit to Spain), and I’m trying to figure out how to bring the impasto of the Ghost Portraits to a larger surface.  I also find this idea of “emptying out the body”, which I mentioned in my last post, intriguing. At the moment I don’t know how to explain that idea further, but it feels like it’s on the edge of something. There are also some other ideas that I’ve talked about in previous posts that are reasserting themselves like “painting invisible.” The last image here is the painting current state, I might give it a rest and work on something else for a little while, or try to have multiple going at once. (I tend to flip the canvas as I go along, so the orientation changes through the images.)

It’s a frighteningly strange one.

This entry was posted in art, Paint, painterly, Painting, Paintings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Invisible Painting One

  1. tarapappas says:

    Interesting process–and great blog! Glad I stumbled across your posting today! Cheers!

  2. i find it Interesting to see the process, thanks.

  3. I really like how watching your progression adds so much to what you see, that’s amazing.

  4. As an Art History person who’s so used to only studying finished pieces, I really appreciated being able to see the process behind your work. It’s kind of amazing how many changes one painting can go through.
    — Meghan

  5. I’ve been starting to do this lately as well! It’s an amazing feeling to look back and see how a piece comes into existence. Beautiful painting, I love the end result and watching your process!

Leave a Reply

