Kim Dorland

I mentioned Kim Dorland a couple of posts back, he’s a painter from Toronto, Canada, and since I saw his current show in New York I’ve been thinking a lot about his work. These are a couple videos on him: one is of the show I saw in New York, and another of an interview that my friend Heather White shared with me. (Heather is actually from Toronto as well, and I am excited to say that I will be visiting her soon to show some work in an exhibition she curated.  More on that soon!) In the interview he talks about the paints’ thickness, how when he’s painting a tree he wants to paint the thickness of the tree.  I really admire the boldness of those thick marks.  The “thickness” in my paintings seems to mostly come from an accumulation of layers, not a single mark.  I find it frightening to even think about making a single mark with such mass, and yet feel this need to push how I make a painting, to explore new territory.

This entry was posted in art, Painting, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

