Next Step

So, I recently moved out of my studio in Burlington and into a new studio at the Vermont Studio Center.  It really made me face how much work I have, a lot of which isn’t finished. As I was moving into the new studio I just started putting everything up on the walls.  In one way it’s interesting to see everything I’ve been working on over the past year, on the other hand it’s a little overwhelming.  Through doing this and looking at my walls over the last couple of days I’ve concluded that the work feels a little too heavy, perhaps too much on the serious side of painting, and I’m hoping to find more ways to have some fun with the work this summer, in addition to exposing the figure a little more.

Today, as I was organizing the studio, I decided it would be a good idea to start doing a drawing at least once a day in my sketch book.  I think this might be a good way to loosen up the painting, if I’m able to stay consistent with it.  It’s reminiscent of the white board drawings and there’s no pressure. It will also be a way for me to keep up with the blog and post more, which is something I like doing, but took some time off from during the residency.  In the past doing Monotypes has loosened up the painting as well, I was thinking I might try that again as well.

This entry was posted in drawing, Drawings, Sketch Book Drawings, Studio Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

