629 Frames Later

Finally, I’ve taken all the images for the upcoming animation.  I’ve shot 629 frames, and after uploading them to my computer I’m getting a first glimpse into what this thing is going to look like.  It’s funny, in first writing about making this piece I expressed some dissatisfaction with the process, but now I feel super excited about it, and yesterday had a couple new ideas for other animation projects for the future.  It’s kind of interesting to think about the final product that’s been left in the studio, i.e. the last frame I painted.

I’m questioning whether that becomes a painting to be shown along side the animation or if the animation stands as something all on its own.  I mean, the animation will stand on its own, but I’m curious about what the painting is as an object then.  It might be interesting to show them together, but I feel uncertain about whether I stopped because I felt the painting was finished or I stopped in order to continue the narrative of the animation. I’m still struggling to figure out when a painting is finished, or what it even means for a painting to be finished.  With the animation it’s almost like the process is able to become the product and I have to worry less about the last marks I make as the thing that sits before the viewer as a painting. In the animation each frame is revealed and the many parts, over a time lapse, become the whole.  (I’m a novice when it comes to philosophy, but I think there are some Wittgenstein ideas floating around here.)  And yet, in a normal painting all those marks are still there, they’re just underneath the last marks. The viewer is just less privy to its chronology and process of making.  This makes me think I should be showing the animation and physical painting together, but maybe on future projects, continue to be more concerned with working until a piece really feels finished as a painting.    Whatever that means…

This entry was posted in Animations, art, Paint, painterly, Painting, Paintings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 629 Frames Later

  1. I don’t remember the specific philosopher, but I know in at least one of my aesthetics classes we discusses the problem of when a painting is done. It’s a difficult question. Who’s to say when a piece is done; are any paintings ever really done?
    It’s even harder to decide when you’re the artist. I don’t really have much experience with painting, but I know from other projects I’ve done, when it’s something you’ve been working on it’s so easy to see all the little mistakes, or things you could have done differently or things you could add. You really just have to step outside yourself and try to look at it objectively. If it was in someone else’s studio, would you think it was a finished piece just waiting to be moved, or something they were clearly still working on? Things like that.
    Also, I like the idea of having the painting an animation next to each other.

    — Meg

Leave a Reply

