Radio

Working on an animation is very long and boring.  Hours go by, and when I decide to stop it feels like I’ve done nothing because I can’t really see my progress; I only see one frame at a time.  This has also given me a lot of time to listen to the BBC and NPR which causes me to feel a little overwhelmed by the state of the world.  Having access to so much information all the time makes me question what my role is as an artist.  So today I decided to take a day off from the animation, and limit my radio listening.   

I pulled out the heart again and did another quick sketch.  Vermont seems like it’s starting to thaw, so I’m not sure how much longer I’ll be keeping the heart on the window sill.  I’m beginning to see how painting the heart over and over is effecting my abstract figurative work.  I’m thinking about color and mass a lot more.  This new piece, which I started this evening, feels a little strange at the moment, but I’m intrigued.  I haven’t been posting my new paintings that are in process.  Part of me wants to save them for a show, or my website- but I thought I’d share this one tonight.  I was kind of happy with it in the studio, but this bad image is making me have second thoughts.

A student of mine left me a quote the other day by Edgar Degas which said “In painting you must give the idea of the true by means of the false.”

This entry was posted in art, Heart Paintings, Paint, painterly, Painting, Paintings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

